Jim’s Thailand Adventure !

Welcome to “Page One” of my new book about my volunteering one year in Thailand ! Still don’t have a title…any suggestions ? 100 % of the proceeds of the book will go to IHF… International Humanity Foundation.

Many of you have been following me for the past two years. Well the adventure continues ! This all started when I retired and left Phoenix to volunteer in Belize. It began with five people who wanted to know my every experience on this journey, so I started to send out weekly emails . Now my list of  friends who I mostly know personally has grown to over 300.

As most of you know I have had many challenges including ending up in jail in Belize. Today I can say “It’s the Best Thing That Ever Happened To Me.” During that time I realized what life is all about ! This blog will share my life lessons with you. I love this thing called “LIFE.” I have discovered the answer to every problem I ever had and will have !

  WELCOME TO THAILAND !

Everyone asks the question. “How Did I get to Thailand and Why?” I spent the past two years near Cancun, Mexico in the little fishing village of Puerto Morelos. I loved that no stop light town. I ran into my soon to be a friend Boyd, who owned a small five room hotel on the beach called “Uncle Hugo’s.” He asked me to take care of his place while he was gone. It worked out great for the both of us. I made a lot of friends in Cancun and Puerto, who have joined me on this journal-journey.

Now…how I got to Thailand! When I was taking care of the hotel in Puerto, I rented a room to a friend named Gary. He spent time in Thailand, and that’s all he talked about. He kept telling me about the beauty of the land and the people. He also told me how inexpensive it was to live there. Well, it sounded interesting but that’s all I thought…interesting. He was checking out Goggle for work in Thailand, and in the center of job opportunities came up “Looking for Volunteers” an odd place in the middle of paid jobs


So I took a look at the ad, and it sounded like their needs were a perfect match to my life resume. It was like I was meant to find this opportunity. They were looking for a co/director of an orphanage in Chiang Rai, Thailand. Had no idea where that was except it was a long way from Mexico. They asked for a one-year commitment, and you pay your own way to get there and of course, no pay. I applied, and after a lot of paperwork was accepted.


That’s when I started to question myself! “What am I doing?” I live in one of the most beautiful places in the world a few feet from a beach that will put anyone at peace, and I’m going to leave all of that behind. The past two years I have been happier than I have ever been in my entire life. However, something inside me kept saying more-more-more. I kept saying things can’t get any better! My whole life has been filled with challenges some meet with success and failure. What gives me inspiration is to try something new. I have been that way my whole life. That gives me purpose in life. If my existence can help another person or even an animal, then I’m OK with that being “The End of the Story.”
I finally got this life thing figured out! We are on this Earth “To be Happy” and if were not… we’re doing something wrong! It’s definitely not about the money thing; I’m proof of that I live on just my S.S. and am more content than I have ever been. I have food, shelter and friends. All my needs are met; of course I have wants but now know they are not the answer. Well, that’s a little outline of where I’m coming from. So…get ready to where I am going. I will start with when I am leaving Mexico.

Link to next page   http://wp.me/p29igY-B 

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Jim’s Thailand Adventure !

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Hi, Looking forward to seeing more updates from your volunteering. Seems like you are enjoying life.. thanks for being an inspiration!

    Cheers,
    Evans

  3. Very inspirational Jim
    Thank you

  4. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

